top of page


The biblical dietary laws are primarily found in the Old Testament of the Bible, specifically in the books of Leviticus (Chapter 11) and Deuteronomy (Chapter 14). These laws form part of the Jewish dietary laws, or kashrut, and detail the foods which are "clean" (permitted) and "unclean" (forbidden). Here's a brief outline of these dietary laws:

  1. Land Animals: Animals that chew the cud (ruminate) and have a split hoof, like cows and sheep, are considered clean. Animals such as pigs, despite having a split hoof, do not chew the cud and are therefore deemed unclean.

  2. Sea Creatures: All fish and sea creatures that have fins and scales are considered clean. This rules out shellfish (like crab, lobster, and shrimp), as well as various types of fish and other sea creatures.

  3. Birds: While the Bible doesn't give a general rule for birds, it does list several specific birds as unclean, many of which are predators or scavengers, like eagles, vultures, and ravens.

  4. Insects: Most insects are considered unclean, except for a few types of locusts and grasshoppers.

  5. Mixtures: The laws also forbid cooking a young goat in its mother's milk, which is the basis for the rule in kashrut against mixing dairy and meat.

Application in Contemporary Society:

For many modern Jews, these dietary laws are still followed closely and form an important part of their religious life. Kosher food preparation rules extend beyond these dietary laws and include separate utensils for dairy and meat, waiting periods between eating these food groups, and specific methods of slaughtering animals.

However, different Jewish communities may have variations in their observance of these rules, and some Jews may choose not to observe them at all. Additionally, there are ongoing debates about new food products, genetically modified organisms (GMOs), and lab-grown meat and how they fit into these laws.

For Christians, the majority of sects do not observe these dietary laws, as it is commonly interpreted that the New Testament abolished them. This is primarily based on passages in the Gospels (Mark 7:19, Acts 10:9-15) where Jesus or Peter declare all foods clean.

However, there are some Christian groups (like Seventh-day Adventists) who do observe some or all of these dietary laws, believing them to be beneficial for health or a part of their spiritual discipline.

For non-religious persons, while these dietary laws don't hold religious significance, some people may choose to follow them for reasons of health, ethics, or personal preference. It's important to note that while these dietary laws can form a part of a healthy diet, they are not necessary for everyone and it's possible to have a healthy diet while not following these laws. As with any dietary choice, it's always a good idea to consult with a dietitian or healthcare provider to ensure your diet is balanced and nutritious.


Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page